20 July 2016

Gavin Freeguard, Adam Boon and Leah Owen summarise Theresa May’s first government appointments.

We’ve been live-blogging the formation of Theresa May’s new government in charts (and with nuggets of insight from our Ministers Reflect project and from across the Institute). The Government published a full list of government ministers on Monday night, which included a few moves that hadn’t previously been announced. We’ve now updated our charts accordingly. So here’s a final summary… This is Theresa May’s Cabinet. Cabinet moves - FINAL Eleven previous attendees (Cameron, Osborne, Gove, Crabb, Morgan, Villiers, Whittingdale, Harper, Stowell, Letwin and Soubry) have gone. Four previous attendees have accepted junior ministerial positions outside Cabinet (Hancock, Hands, Anelay, Halfon). Amusingly, Patrick McLoughlin appeared to move department yesterday: the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster was listed in DCMS yesterday morning (which we thought was odd)… Ministers PRE …but had moved to the Cabinet Office by the end of the day. Which is where we thought he was to start with. Ministers POST With fewer people attending Cabinet than before the reshuffle, May’s Cabinet is actually the smallest since Tony Blair was Prime Minister. Size of Cabinet The lady is for churning – only at the Ministry of Defence did more than half of the ministers remain in post... Duration - SIMPLE 19 July Junior ministers matter as well as Secretaries of State. It’s usually the junior ministers who do a lot of the heavy lifting in parliament and in implementing policies. ...and we also have three new government departments. Dep changes to 2020 - new names In the biggest changes to the machinery of government since Gordon Brown’s premiership:

The Government finally gave some further details on the changes in a ministerial statement from the PM late on Monday (Jill Rutter looked more closely at that yesterday). But there are still questions about other changes – e.g. civil society apparently moving from the Cabinet Office to DCMS. Number of ministers The Cabinet Office ministerial team is actually half of what it was before the reshuffle, while MoJ has also lost three ministerial posts, going from seven ministers to four. The new Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy has six ministers – fewer than the eight in its predecessor BIS (there were three in DECC). The gender balance hasn’t shifted much, although there’s a slightly higher percentage of women in the Cabinet… Government - gender - 19 July Although a slightly lower percentage of all ministers are female, it’s still higher than the percentage of Conservative MPs who are women. Gender by department - static 19 July 2016 Looking at individual departments, there are five without a female minister – the Cabinet Office, DCLG and Transport as well as the new Departments for International Trade and Exiting the European Union. In four departments, half or more of the ministers are women and all are headed by a female Secretary of State: DfID (Patel), Defra (Leadsom), DCMS (Bradley) and the Home Office (Rudd). …and a higher percentage of the Cabinet were supporters of Brexit than before. Government - leave remain - area bar - 19 July Representation of leavers has increased at every level of government, but still isn’t quite as high as the percentage of Conservative MPs that supported Brexit. Leave and remain by department - 19 July In four departments, half or more of ministers supported Brexit: Transport, DfID, Defra and the Department for Exiting the European Union.  


The total number of ministers is displayed on gov.uk:
1 PM + 21 CM + 95 OM = 177 TM.
By comparison, on 9th June (retrieved on archive.org) it was
1 PM + 21 CM + 96 OM = 118 TM,
so the total number of people in the government is not that different.
On 12th July 2014 it was
1 PM + 22 CM + 100 OM = 123 TM.
Every little helps, I suppose.

Of course, the number of ministers in total has been rising for quite some time: http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200910/cmselect/cmpubadm/457/....

This doesn't seem to be confined to Britain either:

So the total number of ministerial departments has increased by one (gained DEEU, DIT and BEIS, lost BIS and DECC). It also means that this cabinet has five exterior ministers (Johnson, Fallon, Patel, Fox, Davis) whereas the previous government had only three (Hammond, Fallon, Greening). I don't think we've had that many in quite some time. This potentially means that the integrity of Boris to Britain's "place on the world stage" is diluted somewhat.