Government departments and committees


Organisation Name

AGO Attorney General's Office
APPG All-Party Parliamentary Group
BEIS Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
CO Cabinet Office
DCMS Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
Defra Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
DExEU Department for Exiting the European Union
DfE Department for Education
DfiD Department for International Development
DfT Department for Transport
DHSC Department for Health and Social Care
DIT Department for International Trade
DLC Delegated Legislation Committee
DWP Department for Work and Pensions
ESC European Scurinty Committee
ESIC European Statutory Instruments Committee
FCO Foreign and Commonwealth Office
HMRC HM Revenue and Customs
HMT HM Treasury
HO Home Office
IPSA Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority
JCSI Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments
MHCLG Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government
MoD Ministry of Defence
MoJ Ministry of Justice
NAO National Audit Office
OBR Office for Budget Responsibility
PAC Public Accounts Committee
PACAC Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee
SCSI Select Committee on Statutory Instruments
SLSC Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee

Other abbreviations and acronyms 

DUP Democratic Unionist Party
EDM Early Day Motion
EU European Union
[HL] Starting in the House of Lords
HS2 High Speed 2
m million
PM Prime Minister
PMB Private Member's Bill
PPS Parliamentary private secretary
PQ Parliamentary question
SI Statutory instrument
SNP               Scottish National Party
SR Sessional return
TME Total managed expenditure
UQ Urgent question