Conservative Party leadership contest 2019

Boris Johnson has won the 2019 Conservative Party leadership contest with 66% of the membership vote. His rival, Jeremy Hunt, won 34% of the vote.

Boris Johnson was Foreign Secretary between July 2016 and July 2018, when he resigned over the Government’s white paper proposals for the future relationship between the UK and the EU.

He was Mayor of London between 2008 and 2016. He has been the Member of Parliament for Uxbridge and South Ruislip since the 2015 General Election. He was also the MP for Henley from 2001–08, a post he resigned from once he won the London mayoralty.

Conservative Party leadership contest results

What policy pledges has Boris Johnson made?

Brexit was the defining issue of the leadership contest, but Johnson also made a number of proposals on non-Brexit related issues.




Remove the backstop for the Irish border

Leave on 31 October 2019, with or without a deal

Increase no deal preparations


Raise thresholds for 40p rate of income tax and national insurance

Switch stamp duty on homes to be paid by the seller, not the buyer

Public services

Increase school spending to £5000 per pupil

Increase police numbers by 20,000 by 2022


Review HS2

Unclear on Heathrow expansion

Fast internet connection to every UK home by 2025

Immigration “Australian-style points system”

What happened in the first phase of the Conservative Party leadership contest?

The first phase of the contest consisted of recurring rounds of votes by Conservative MPs.

Three contenders – James Cleverly, Sam Gyimah and Kit Malthouse – dropped out before the race formally began.

The results of each round of MPs' votes were:


Successful (votes)

Eliminated (votes)

13 June Michael Gove (37)

Matt Hancock (20)

Jeremy Hunt (43)

Sajid Javid (23)

Boris Johnson (114)

Dominic Raab (27)

Rory Stewart (19)
Mark Harper (10)*

Andrea Leadsom (11)*

Esther McVey (9)*
18 June Michael Gove (41)

Jeremy Hunt (46)

Sajid Javid (33)

Boris Johnson (126)

Rory Stewart (37)
Dominic Raab (30)*
19 June Michael Gove (51)

Jeremy Hunt (54)

Sajid Javid (38)

Boris Johnson (143)
Rory Stewart (27)
20 June – morning Michael Gove (61)

Jeremy Hunt (59)

Boris Johnson (157)
Sajid Javid (34)
20 June – afternoon Jeremy Hunt (77)

Boris Johnson (160)
Michael Gove (75)

*Indicates candidates did not mean necessary threshold: 5% of votes (16) on 13 June and 10% of votes (32) on 18 June. Despite meeting the first round threshold, Matt Hancock pulled out of the race on 13 June.